Dec. 13, 2021

HARRISBURG – The House State Government Committee today advanced several key pieces of legislation on congressional redistricting, said Rep. Seth Grove (R-York), chairman of the committee.

“The action by the committee today moves the map-making process forward and allows policymakers to reach a negotiated compromise on a map,” Grove said. “Time is of the essence because of the artificial Jan. 24 deadline set by the Department of State. I look forward to working with members of the General Assembly, as well as the Wolf administration, to reach a final map.”

The process is further complicated by Pennsylvania losing a congressional seat, dropping down to 17 in 2022.

The committee approved House Bills 1536 and 2147, which would eventually contain a proposed congressional district map. Reaching a final map is no easy task. Each district must be of equal population and, as committee members heard during eight regional hearings, residents want to keep communities of interest together.

Residents can still make their voices heard by commenting on a preliminary map drawn by resident Amanda Holt. To comment, go to There, residents can also watch or read testimony from one of the 12 previously held hearings and view previously submitted statewide maps, communities of interest and public comments.

Also approved by the committee was House Resolution 165 to prevent policymakers from controversially allocating prisoners to their hometowns instead of their current place of residence.

“The vote today propels the conversation forward as we work toward a finalized map to be put into place for the next 10 years,” Grove said. “It is paramount we listen to feedback from residents. The final congressional map will determine how Pennsylvanians will be represented in Washington, D.C., for years to come.”

The bills now go to the full House for consideration. A proposed congressional map must be approved by the House and Senate, and then signed by the governor.

Representative Seth Grove
196th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Greg Gross
717.260.6374 /