York County Will Be Well Represented on House Select Committee on School Safety

Grove and Regan have been appointed by speaker to serve on committee

HARRISBURG – Reps. Seth Grove (R-Dover) and Mike Regan (R-Dillsburg) announced today that they have been appointed by the Speaker of the House to serve on the newly established Select Committee on School Safety.

“As a parent, I understand the importance of this issue and the very emotional impact of the school shooting in Newtown, CT,” said Grove.  “The safety of Pennsylvania’s children is of the utmost concern, and I am hopeful this bipartisan committee will generate innovative ideas about how best to protect students in the Commonwealth.”

The select committee was instituted with the passage of House Resolution 53 of 2013, authored by Rep. Gary Day (R-Berks/Lehigh), who also will chair the committee.  The resolution was adopted by the House unanimously in March.

The committee is tasked with investigating, reviewing and making recommendations regarding current security policies and procedures in schools, current state laws and regulations related to school safety and security, early detection of potentially violent perpetrators, and potential budgetary reforms. 

“I am pleased that this select committee is moving forward and it is made up of a strong bipartisan presence from across the Commonwealth,” said Regan.  “This issue is vital to the future of Pennsylvania as we seek to do a better job of protecting our children, and those who teach them.  I look forward to working with my colleagues to develop a sound overall plan that will benefit everyone involved.”

Other appointed members of the committee include: 

  • Rep. Cherelle Parker (D-Philadelphia), who will serve as the committee’s vice chairperson.
  • Rep. Joe Hackett (R-Delaware).
  • Rep. Patrick Harkins (D-Erie).
  • Rep. Dom Costa (D-Allegheny).
  • Rep. Todd Rock (R-Franklin).
  • Rep. Michelle Brownlee (D-Philadelphia).
  • Rep. Tarah Toohil (R-Luzerne).
  • Rep. Patty Kim (D-Dauphin).
  • Rep. Marcy Toepel (R-Montgomery).
  • Rep. Mary Jo Daley (D-Montgomery).
  • Rep. Jim Christiana (R-Beaver).
  • Rep. Jake Wheatley (D-Allegheny).

In the coming weeks, the committee is expected to hold public meetings and hearings to investigate possible school safety improvements.  It will submit a report of its findings and recommendations to the House of Representatives by Sept. 30.

More information about Grove is available at www.RepGrove.com and www.Facebook.com/RepSethGrove.  Regan posts information at www.RepMikeRegan.com and www.Facebook.com/RepMikeRegan.

Representative Seth Grove
196th District, Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact:  Nicole Wamsley

Representative Mike Regan
92nd District, Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact:  Raymond Smith
Share |